Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/bredmond/ on line 18

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Comment::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl(&$output) in /home/bredmond/ on line 0

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Comment::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl(&$output) in /home/bredmond/ on line 0

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Comment::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el(&$output) in /home/bredmond/ on line 0

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Comment::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el(&$output) in /home/bredmond/ on line 0

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/bredmond/ on line 1465
Poet Populist Seattle » Past Poets Populist

Past Poets Populist

2007-2008: Cody Walker

Cody Walker

Cody Walker was elected Poet Populist for the 2007-2008 term. He received the most votes in an election that saw record participation: 16 total nominees and 48 write-in candidates, with 1845 votes cast. Cody, nominated by Seattle Arts & Lectures, will serve as Poet Populist for 2007-2008, representing as the poetic “voice of the people” on numerous occasions in person and on the page.

About Cody Walker

Cody Walker teaches English at the University of Washington and poetry through Seattle Arts and Lectures’ Writers in the Schools program. He also serves as a writer-in-residence at the Richard Hugo House. Cody received the 2003 James Boatwright III Prize for Poetry from Shenandoah and the 2005 Distinguished Teaching Award from the UW English Department. His work appears on buses and bookmarks, as well as in Best American Poetry, Best New Poets, Parnassus, Slate, Prairie Schooner, Subtropics, and Light. This September he’ll be directing the UW’s two-week poetry seminar in Friday Harbor.

2006-2007: Jourdan Imani Keith

Jourdan Imani Kieith

Jourdan Imani Keith was elected Seattle Poet Populist in 2006 after receiving the most votes - 321 out of 975 cast. Jourdan has demonstrated a commitment to her written work and presenting it to the community. In addition to her work as a poet and storyteller, Jourdan studies closely with local children and teens as part of the Writers in the Schools program and through her non-profit organization, the Urban Wilderness Project, bringing inner city youth to the wilderness. Representing the diverse political, social, and cultural identities and landscapes through her writing, Jourdan epitomizes what the Poet Populist is, a poet for the people.

from the ground up, a Seattle-based writers program, nominated Jourdan because she is an outstanding poet and extremely active in the literary community.

2005-2006 Pesha Joyce Gertler

2002-2003 Tara Hardy

2001-2002 Bart Baxter

2000-2001 Bernard Harris, Jr.

1999-2000 Bernard Harris, Jr.

2007-2008 Poet Populist Nominees

Roberto Ascalon*, Shannon Borg, John Burgess, Beth Coyote, Angela
Martinez-Dy*, Victoria Ford, Richard Gold*, Chad Goller-Sojourner, Anna
Maria Hong, Jared Leising, Amy Mahoney, John Olson, Peter Periera, Molly
Tenenbaum, Len Tews.

2006-2007 Poet Populist Nominees

John Burgess*, Crysta Casey*, Lyn Coffin*, Anna Maria Hong, Jourdan Keith*, Barbara Petite, Joannie Kervran Stangeland

2005-2006 Poet Populist Nominees

Christa Bell, Nancy Dahlberg*, Irene Drennan, Rajnii Eddins, Pesha Joyce Gertler*, Paul C. Hunter, Ann Batchelor Hursey, Donald Kentop*, Frances McCue, Brian McGuigan, Cathy Ruiz, Kary Wayson*

* Finalists